Poetry above the Roar

by williamkupinse

At the moment this site will serve to host the lyrics to the songs in the forthcoming CD Poetry above the Roar–the lyrics being ten of my poems that appeared in my 2009 collection Fallow, published with the support of the Tacoma Arts Commission.  (Thank you, Tacoma Arts Commission, for encouraging artists of many genres).  I’ve been fortunate to work with two very talented and generous collaborators since Poetry above the Roar first got underway: composer Gregory Youtz, who initiated the project and whose score for the ten songs covers a range of styles that continues to amaze me; and mezzo-soprano Erin Calata, who interprets the poem-songs with such grace and sensitivity.

In the future, I hope to share some more current writing on this blog, but for now, I’m going to work on getting the poems in Poetry above the Roar online.  

Thanks for stopping by.  

All poems © 2009, 2014, William Kupinse 

